LibGuides: Visual Arts: Art History Resources

Library Resources

Our library's print collection is particularly strong in Art books. You can browse call numbers in these areas related to art and art history. Click here to view floor maps and note that many art books are shelved in our oversized collection.

AM: Museum Studies
N: Visual Arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND: Painting
NE Printmaking
NK: Decorative arts
NX: Arts in general, Mixed Media, Performance Art
PN: Art and Literature/Film
TR: Photography
Z: Books (General), Writing, Paleography, Book Industries and Trade, Libraries, Bibliography (This section also contains typography and history of the book).

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Founded with a mission to enhance scholarship and teaching through the use of digital images and media, Artstor is a nonprofit organization committed to digital collection solutions for universities, museums, schools, and libraries worldwide. Our ever-increasing digital library includes more than 2 million high-quality images for education and research from a wide variety of contributors around the world. We have developed a complete set of tools to catalog, manage, and distribute digital media collections.

Art-3000
Art-3000 is a free online art gallery open to all artists and photographers. Can browse by country and artist.
Art21
The only series on television in the U.S. to focus exclusively on contemporary visual art and artists, Art in the Twenty-First Century is a Peabody Award-winning biennial program that allows viewers to observe the artists at work, watch as they transform inspiration into art, and hear how they struggle with both the physical and visual challenges of achieving their visions.
Artnet
artnet is a commercial site that is the leading online resource for the international art market, and the destination to buy, sell, and research art online. Founded in 1989 with the goal of bringing transparency to the art world, artnet’s comprehensive suite of products offers a variety of art market resources to our audience of collectors, dealers, and art enthusiasts.
Artsy
Artsy is a commercial site whose mission is to expand the art market to support more artists and art in the world.

Check out "artists on the rise" for new artists.

We are a platform for collecting and discovering art.
Creative Commons
Search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses.
Wikiart
Possible to view female artists.

Our primary goal is to make world’s art accessible to anyone and anywhere. WikiArt already features some 250.000 artworks by 3.000 artists, localized on 7 languages. These artworks are in museums, universities, town halls, and other civic buildings of more than 100 countries. Most of this art is not on public view.

The Athenaeum
- This link opens in a new window
The Athenaeum is a repository of primary source materials, whether they are images of artworks, texts, maps, or other related materials.
Europeana
- This link opens in a new window
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Google Arts & Culture
- This link opens in a new window
Google Arts & Culture has collaborated with over 1,200 international museums, galleries and institutions from 70 countries to make their exhibits available for everyone online. Meet the people, visit the places and learn about the events that shaped our world. Discover collections curated by experts from the most famous museums.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Library of Congress | Art & Architecture
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
The Louvre
The Collections database of more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix.
National Archives
The National Archives is the U.S. Government’s collection of documents that records important events in American history. The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the Government agency that preserves and maintains these materials and makes them available for research.

Search Tools

OneSearch
Search the MHC Library's physical and digital collections, and beyond.
Databases A-Z
Browse the MHC Library's databases. This list is sortable by subject.
WorldCat PubFinder
Browse or search for specific journals, articles, or ebooks in the library's digital collections.

Visual Arts: Art History Resources

Subject Guide Summary

Welcome! This is a guide to our lbrary's resources on the topic of the Visual Arts. Use the tabs below to find books, eBooks, and articles in the library physical and online collections.

If you would like assistance, click on the pink "Chat with Us" tab on the right to reach a librarian any time, or email us at library@sbc.edu to make an appointment for a research consultation.

Library Resources

Search Tools